Friday, September 8, 2017

AAAACCCCKKKKK!  Life is very busy around here right now.  I am watching my 3 year old great-nephew, making craft items for my store, Fun Funky n Cool Creations, and making swag for my sister because she will be publishing her first book soon.  She will have a table at Penned Con 2017.  Her name is Debbie Browdy and I am so proud of her.

The 3 year old is her grandson and he was my assistant today working on her swag.

Tuesday, July 25, 2017

Bumps In the Road
by author Lois D. Brown

Bumps in the road. Everyone has them. One of my “bumps” turned into my first novel ever— The Saros Curse
In 2009-ish I was diagnosed with having Simple Partial Seizures. These kinds of seizures don’t affect motor skills, but they can affect all five of your senses. In addition they caused me to have MASSIVE déjà vu where time slowed to a crawl and everything around me faded in and out (not to mention my muffled hearing, a metallic taste, and the bright lights). Yeah . . . it was weird.
The diagnosis left me feeling low. It meant medication (probably for life) and the memory loss I’d experienced was permanent. After getting a bunch of tests at the hospital, I went to bed thinking about my situation. That night I had the most vivid dream. It was about a teenage girl who had these frightening feelings of having already experienced things before . . . but in another lifetime.
I woke up and knew I was going to write a book. A novel. For me, that was something new. I had been a journalist and non-fiction ghost author for twenty years. I had always told myself that fiction was out of my league.
Writing the book The Saros Curse  was therapy for me. Sure, the story is fake. Sure, things that happen in the book aren’t real, but in a weird way it helped me come to terms with my own “bump” in the road and move on. Better yet, I learned I LOVED writing fiction. Twenty years of being afraid of writing a novel were gone.
I don’t mean to turn this into a sermon, but if you’re going through a hard time, do what you can to embrace the challenge. For everyone that is something different. For me, it was writing a book.

Lois has kindly offered my readers a free short story:   Death in the Air.  Just click the link.

Where you can follow Lois:
Amazon

Where you can find her books:
Lois D. Brown

Saturday, July 22, 2017

Did you know the Japanese word tsundoku means:

ie:  Mount TBR

I found this out from J.A. Andrews newsletter.

Friday, July 21, 2017

I have news.  My friend Danielle Bannister, author (she has been featured in 2016 here with an awesome article on the cost of publishing books) and author Amy Miles have co-authored a book:  Netherworld, Book 1 of the Hallowed Realms Trilogy in the Fantasy/Mythology genre.  She shared with me the cover reveal that was released on 7/11.


Here is a Blurb:

Taryn
Flatline. The moment when one life ends and the next begins. That’s my cue. And I hate it. Being a banshee is a right pain in the arse. When I’m not ferrying manky old blokes or mental cat ladies through the veil between Earth and Netherworld, I’m training in secret for a war our King denies is coming. But I know better. An army of Lorcan monsters stands ready to breach the walls. If they succeed, the destruction they seek will not be contained to just our world, but to the human world beyond. My only hope is to rely on the aid of a cocky prince with his own agenda. But after a human man captures my interest, will I be able to accept the terms of the prince’s aid?


Devlin
Our paths were never meant to cross. I’m meant to live my human life, unaware of the world that exists beyond the veil. I know about death, sure. My own sister’s life hangs in the balance, holding my own happiness with it. But when Taryn and I collide, my world flips upside down. Nothing makes sense anymore. There are things I shouldn’t be able to see but now can’t escape from. Logic tells me to run as far as I can from Taryn and the horrors of her world but my heart screams at me to follow her to the literal ends of the earth. Even if it means my own damnation. 

Pre-order at ibooks
more venues will be coming soon.


Wednesday, July 12, 2017

AUTHOR OF THE DAY

AMY SOJAI


  Amy Shojai, CABC calls herself an "accidental writer" because she took a detour on her way to Broadway and stayed to write books. She earned a double-major in music and theater performance, and sings, plays piano and cello, as well as composing/producing musical comedy plays. 

Amy is a certified animal behavior consultant (for dogs and cats) and a former vet tech. All of these topics inform Amy's "pet-centric Thrillers With Bite!" She is also the award-winning author of more than 30 nonfiction pet care books, and has appeared frequently in the media as a pet care expert, including Animal planet. 

Once Amy accepted the commute from her mid-west home to New York theater was outside her gas budget, writing became her creative outlet. She fell in love with advocating for pets through her articles, blogs and books, and co-founded the Cat Writers Association in 1992 (catwriters.com). She's also a member of the Dog Writers Association of America, International Thriller Writers, Sisters in Crime, and an honorary life member/past president of Oklahoma Writers Federation. 

Today, Amy lives in North Texas with an 11-year-old wise-ass German Shepherd, a delinquent four-year-old tabby cat, and a 21-year-old Siamese wannabe who rules the whole house.

In her spare time, Amy volunteers with local school programs and community theaters teaching young thespians, as well as offering professional cat and dog behavior consults to help solve "pet peeves." Oh...and she loves bling, especially pet-theme jewelry, hence the name of her blog, BLING, BITCHES & BLOOD.

Amy's critically acclaimed September & Shadow Thriller Series, set in North Texas, are high-octane domestic thrillers praised by James Rollins, J.T. Ellison. Jon Land and others. They feature an animal behaviorist who plays cello on the side, and her German Shepherd service dog (he has his own viewpoint chapters!) as well as a trained Maine Coon cat. Of course, her "furry muses" keep her honest and on track writing both fiction and nonfiction that empowers pet lovers with life saving info-tainment.




Learn more about Amy:
Facebook
Twitter
Blog

Amy Sojai, CABC (certified Animal Behavior Consultant)

Where to get Amy's books:
Amazon
Bling, Bitches and Blood - her blog
Bookbub




Monday, June 19, 2017

Friday, April 14, 2017

Just for fun here is a quiz "How Well do you know your Synonyms?"   Here is the link:  Synonym



Tuesday, March 28, 2017

AUTHOR OF THE DAY:

ROBERT EGGLETON



Robert Eggleton has served as a children's advocate in an impoverished state for over forty years. He is best known for his investigative reports about children’s programs, most of which were published by the West Virginia Supreme Court where he worked from 1982 through 1997, and which also included publication of models of serving disadvantaged and homeless children in the community instead of in large institutions, research into foster care drift involving children bouncing from one home to the next -- never finding a permanent loving family, and statistical reports on the occurrence and correlates of child abuse and delinquency. 

Since winning the eighth grade short story competition, he has aspired to become a rich and famous author. Always inspired by pursuits of remedies for the most needful, except for a few poems that were published over the years, fiction took a backseat. In 2002, Robert accepted a job at a local community-based mental health center. The program where he worked served kids with serious mental health problems, many of whom had been traumatized by child abuse, parental abandonment, rape…. For the first time in his career, his job description did not include the production of written material. The heartfelt need to write began to build until one day something almost magical happened. 

In 2006, Robert met the role model for his protagonist during a group psychotherapy session that he was facilitating. She sat around a table used for written therapeutic exercises – a skinny eleven year old girl with stringy brown hair. Instead of just disclosing her abuse by one of the meanest daddies on Earth, she spoke of her hopes and dreams for the future, finding a loving family that would protect her. Robert named her Lacy Dawn, the origin of the Lacy Dawn Adventures project.        

After fifty-two years of contributions into the U.S. Social Security fund, Robert retired in 2015 to write and promote his fiction. Three short Lacy Dawn Adventures have been published by magazines: Wingspan QuarterlyBeyond Centauri, and Atomjack Science Fiction Magazine. Rarity from the Hollow is his debut novelThe Advance Review Copy was named one of the best books of 2015 along side of Revival by Stephen King and The Martian by Andy Weir.  It was also awarded Gold Medals by two prominent book review organizations. On December 5, 2016, the final edition of Rarity from the Hollow was released to AnazibAuthor proceeds have been donated to a child abuse prevention program operated by Children’s Home Society of West Virginia. http://www.childhswv.org/  




Robert continues to write fiction with new adventures based on a protagonist that is a composite character of children that he met when delivering group therapy services. The overall theme of his stories remains victimization to empowerment. So far, most of his work has been literary genre benders with a speculative or science fiction backdrop. His next major project is titled, Ivy – an almost forgotten Appalachian town and the headquarters of an alien invasion of Earth. Of course, satiric social commentary is written into the story.   

Purchase links:

Dog Horn Publishing
Weightless Books

Author Contacts:

Lacy Dawn Adventures
Goodreads
Lacy Dawn Adventures on Facebook
Twitter
Google +
Linkedin


PS from me, Diane, I read both the first and the second editions of Rarity From the Hollow.  I enjoyed the second much more than the first.  Here is my review of the second on Goodreads, Rarity From the Hollow  The picture though is the first. 

Wednesday, February 22, 2017

Scott Bury who was featured as an "Author of the Day" 1/2/17 is having a launch party on facebook for the last book in his WWII Trilogy - Walking Out of War - Check it out here Launch Party 5p - 9p EST Scott Bury

You can get the first book in the series:  The Army of Worn Soles on Amazon - free Kindle version


Tuesday, February 14, 2017

I love some of the articles at Bustle.  Today I found one by Maddy Foley regarding George Orwell's 1984.  In this article she points out quotes in the book that was published in 1949 that are relevant today.

Check out the article here.  I noticed that the first link that says: "1984 quotes that are horrifyingly relevant in 2017" goes to a site that only shows where Kellyanne Conway used one.  If you scroll down the article on Bustle you will find all of them.

You can get the Dystopian novel 1984 on Amazon (Kindle edition) or Amazon.com (HB or PB) if you haven't read it yet.